New to Ginga?

The Ginga series has been ongoing since 1983 and is one of the top 10 longest mangas, so there’s a lot to take in! If you are new to Ginga, this should help you get started!

Want to know more? We suggest Ginga Board! Many members will post summaries and info about the latest chapters, and can provide resources to get caught up.

Chronological Order

*While GDA and GDR take place before the other series, we suggest you wait to read them until after you have read GNG.

Ginga: Nagareboshi Gin (GNG)

GNG follows the Akita Inu puppy Gin as he joins up with a pack of wild dogs whose goal is to take down the evil bear Akakabuto.

Volumes: 18

Translations: English, Finnish, Chinese, Korean

Story Arcs: Akakabuto Arc, Wolf Arc

Anime: a 21 episode anime aired from April 7, 1986 to August 22, 1986. It was animated by Toei Animation, and it covers the Akakabuto arc.

Anime Translations: Finnish, Swedish, Danish, Hungarian, Norwegian, Korean

Ginga Densetsu Weed (GDW)

GDW follows Gin’s son, Weed, as he tries to find his father and become a leader himself.

Volumes: 60

Translations: English*, Finnish, Chinese, Korean

Story Arcs: Kaibutsu Arc, Hougen Arc, Monkey Arc, Russian Dog Arc, Hybrid Arc

Anime: a 26 episode anime aired from November 3, 2005 to May 11, 2006. It was animated by Studio Deen, and it covers the Kaibutsu and Hougen arcs. It had quite a few notable differences from the manga, including leaving out entire characters, or changing character deaths.

Anime Translations: Finnish, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Chinese

*The English GDW manga only published the first 3 volumes, and is regarded as a poorly done translation.

Ginga Densetsu Riki (GDR)

A short prequel, showing Riki (Gin’s father) as he learns to be a bearhound.

Volumes: 1

Translations: Finnish

Ginga Densetsu Weed: Orion (GDWO)

GDWO follows Weed’s children Sirius, Rigel, Bellatrix, and most notably Orion.

Volumes: 30

Translations: Finnish

Ginga Densetsu Akame (GDA)

GDA is a side-story that takes place in the 1500s, following Akame’s ancestors and the beginning of the Iga/Koga war (the end of the war is seen in GNG).

Volumes: 5

Translations: Finnish

Ginga: The Last Wars (TLW)

The Last Wars focuses on one of Akakabuto’s remaining children taking revenge on the dogs.

Volumes: 22

Translations: Finnish

Ginga Densetsu Noah (GDN)

Taking place 6 months after the events of TLW, it follows Orion and the other dogs facing many new and strange foes, and meeting the mysterious dog named Noah.

Volumes: 17

Translations: Finnish

Other Stories

Additional Ginga-related short stories have been collected into other books. These stories take place at varying points in the Ginga storyline.